.Yankee Candle Haul | December/January.

We all have those guilty pleasures, and mine has to be Yankee Candles. After working for them for two years I loved them, and when we closed I was gutted. But luckily for me my best friend opened his open shop, Candle Scentral, letting us candle addicts along the south coast get our fix. For my Yankee Haul vlog click HERE.heart

R0003439

Just before Christmas I treated myself to some rare US exclusives. The first one, French Vanilla, was a no-brainer. As this one is “retired” in the UK I can only ever get it in plug-in’s and car accessories. This smells divine when burning, forever a classic. I do know at some point there is a vanilla candle coming, hopefully it will be the closest I can get to French Vanilla without being sugary like Vanilla Cupcake.

My second purchase, Cotton Candy, was new to me and not like my usual pick. Normally I tend to avoid the sweet ones as I find, for me, they can be too sweet and sickly. I was pleasantly surprised when I opened the jar and found it’s actually alright!! This was a lighter scent than expected but the true test would be in the burning. I left this to burn for a good six hours and found that my room wasn’t overwhelmed by the fragrance, which was my main concern.

R0003434

The first quarter of this year is My Serenity, focusing on fresh and relaxing fragrances for Spring. Out of the four fragrances released: Serenity, Lemongrass and Ginger, Peony and Moonlight; Lemongrass caught my attention straight away. I absolutely adore Sicilian Lemon and Ginger Dust but I feel their more summer and autumn/winter fragrances.

Whilst burning this smells brilliant, it’s not too overpowering like you think it would be. The ginger and lemongrass combination is a winner for me, it’s a perfect refreshing start to summer.

My last purchase was Peony, I wasn’t sure how I felt about this when I first opened the jar, floral can be hit or miss with me. I decided to buy a sampler and melt so we could try it in the bathroom and in mum’s room as I thought she might like. This scent reminds me White Gardenia whilst burning, I doubt I’d buy this in jar form unless mum wanted it for her room.

R0003442

Welcome to the bonus round!! As I spent over £30 I got a free goodie bag containing Lavender. Personally I don’t like lavender, I find it too strong and heady. I never liked French Lavender or Lemon Lavender, but mum loves the smell. When Lavender was released I did take a smell and thought it did smell mildly better, my old colleague who now works in the new shop said it smelt like the lavender fields in the south of France. I gave this candle to mum for her to burn in her room, and I’m not gonna lie I kind of like it. I’m not saying I want to welcome it downstairs but it does smell more fresh and outdoorsy, far less intense than French Lavender.

Thank you for stopping by and sharing in my haul, I should have another one heading your way in February as I’ve been ordering a few bits. As always I’d love to hear your thoughts in the comments about my limited editions and the new spring range. See you in the next post.


Don’t forget you can follow me on Instagram | Facebook | YouTube | Goodreads | BookLikes

One thought on “.Yankee Candle Haul | December/January.

Leave a Reply

