.Hansel & Gretel : Neil Gaiman Book Review.

R0003423This review can also be found at Booklikes & Goodreads.

Rating: 3 out of 5 stars.

After hearing about The Sleeper and the Spindle (review HERE) I was so excited when I heard Hansel and Gretal was also on its way, plus Gaiman had teamed up with a different illustrator. I don’t want to say I was disappointed, because I did enjoy the book, but it wasn’t what I was expecting.

First the story, I thought like The Sleeper and the Spindle it would be a bit different, but it was basically the same story, what I did like was the inclusion of the stories history; a nice touch. But in the end I  guess I was expecting more, I feel the only way you could change the story up a bit would be, like the other book, introducing a  character from another fairy tale.

Don’t get me wrong I really did love Lorenzo Mattotti’s illustrations, but I’m not used to the lack of detail. For their journey into the forest I felt it worked well; gave the illusion of the enclosing forest. Darkness creeping in. I feel like the detailing was need most when it came to the witches cottage. Again, this is down to personal preference.

All in all this is a classic with beautiful and different illustrations, and as always Gaiman is a wonderful story teller; so it doesn’t feel like you’re reading the same old story. See you in the next post.


Don’t forget you can follow me on Instagram | Facebook | YouTube | Goodreads | BookLikes

Leave a Reply

