.Monstrous Beauty : Elizabeth Fama Book Review.

R0001888This Review can also be found at Goodreads & Booklikes.
Rating 5 out of 5 stars.

HOLY CRAP!! I started this book not long before I went to Disneyland for the first time ever, and I’m so glad I took this book, it made my experience even more amazing, I couldn’t wait for bedtime!! There was magic during the day followed by magic at night.

756564

6365253

After searching for a mermaid based book I came across this gem by Elizabeth Fama, I feel in love with this book only 8 pages in. This book didn’t romanticise mermaids, lets face it their history is more luring men to their deaths. Anyone who has read Peter Pan knows the mermaids aren’t exactly friendly, nor are they in the book Tiger Lily by Jodi Lynn Anderson.

I want to know so much more about mermaid life, I feel like we only get a sneak peek into their world and I want to know so much more. Although in the bonus material I got another sighting of Syrenka, I would love to have a sequel based on her and her sisters over time.

The story is told in two parts, Syrenkas in 1872 and Hester in present day. Due to what took place in the past Hester is cursed, just like her mother before her, to spend her life alone and and unhappy or end up like her mother and the woman before her. Dead after giving birth. What could have been an annoying love triangle it wasn’t, Peter gets that Hester doesn’t look at him like that, and he puts aside his feelings for her to be her friend. But after a strange series of events (and paranormal, but only the reader is aware) and a meeting with Ezra Hester finds a reason to fight against the curse.

R0001884R0001886

I really enjoyed the two timelines, it meant to we got to learn about the past before Hester, understanding the events that took place and Syrenka did to create the curse. Everything and everyone were tied together. The only fault I really have with this book is the explanation of how mermaids can become human. Fama writes that it is in two parts, the first being simple. To bear a man’s child will give her a mortal soul and the second is a price no one should be willing to pay. I’m not 100% on this, but I think it is implying taking a human life. When I talking to a friend, who I threw this book at once I’d finished it, she agreed with me that it wasn’t completely clear.

This book was a great read, I really need another book though, that has to be the biggest downside. I want to know more about the mermaids, they are described as beautiful creatures “pale and luminescent as a ghost, with swirling white hair.” Yet once you get the full picture their actually quite creepy looking plus their quite animal like, the way they hunt for food and tear into it. I really would recommend this book. See you in the next post.

Don’t forget you can follow me on Instagram | Facebook | YouTube | Goodreads | BookLikes

Leave a Reply

